As part of our preparation for this coming weekend’s NHIAA Divisional State Championships, Fergus Cullen was kind enough to share a version of ‘Streakers’.  Also, keep in mind to vote in our daily poll of which teams will win their respective Division title!!!

Streakers! Longest Active Streaks Qualifying for Meet of Champs

It’s great if you’re on a team competing to win a division championship on Saturday. For other teams, the goal is to qualify for the elite Meet of Champions. The top eight teams from D-1, the top six schools from D-2, and the top five teams from D-3 make it. Also advancing to the Meet of Champs are individuals who place in the top 30 in D-1, the top 25 in D-2, and the top 23 in D-3. (Why 23? Who knows!)
Some teams seem to make it to the Meet of Champions every year – but it’s hard to be consistently that good, year in, year out. Of the 144 teams in the state (boys and girls squads from 18 schools in D-1, 22 in D-2, and 32 in D-3, boys and girls), only 19 programs have current streaks of at least three years in a row.

The Londonderry boys own the longest current active streak. They’ve qualified for the Meet of Champions 26 years in a row, every year since 1990. The longest current girls streak is held by Pinkerton. They’ve made it 18 years in a row, starting in 1998.

The all-time streak record is held by the Manchester Central girls. They made it 32 years in a row from 1983-2014. The Central streak came to an end last year.

Here’s the list of active streaks of three years or longer. Good luck to those trying to extend streaks – or start ones!

Years Team Year Started
26 Londonderry Boys 1990
18 Pinkerton Girls 1998
16 Coe-Brown Girls 2000
16 Oyster River Boys 2000
15 Hanover Girls 2001
12 Pinkerton Boys 2004
9 Bishop Guertin Girls 2007
7 Souhegan Girls 2009
6 Bedford Girls 2010
6 Bow Girls 2010
5 Concord girls 2011
5 Winnacunnet Girls 2011
4 Oyster River Girls 2012
4 Nashua South Boys 2012
3 Monadnock Girls 2013
3 Alvirne Boys 2013
3 Coe-Brown Boys 2013
3 Mascenic Boys 2013
3 Monadnock Boys 2013
3 Timberlane Boys 2013


List compiled by Fergus Cullen, Oyster River girls coach.




Leave a Reply

%d bloggers like this: